Friendly Fires – “Pala” Album Review

The British indie alternative dance group known as Friendly Fires came out with their second album “Pala” last month on the 16th of May, 2011. I was late on getting it but recently picked it up.

I first heard of Friendly Fires from my best friend Valente Gonzales. The first song of theirs that caught my attention and made me like them was “Jump in the Pool”. After he let me listen to them I immediately looked them up and got their first album. I really like the singing and rhythms they had in the music.

The novel “Island”, by Aldous Huxley, influenced the second album “Pala”. In which the main character was shipwrecked on the island of Pala.

After listening to it over and over again, I really enjoy this album. It’s good to hear this style of music because music now seems to be polluted with phony indie electro bands. This group however has a unique style that isn’t heard often. When I first heard this album I liked maybe 2 or 3 songs. After each listening session I started to like another and another until it was just about the whole album.

This album does have its indie alternative style, and then in some songs there is a sense of an island or tropical style in the beats. The stories within the album range from the rejection and pain of the absence of a lover or the love felt during a relationship.

In the end I really enjoyed this album. I’d give it an 8 out of 10.

My favorite songs in the album has to be “Pull Me Back to Earth” “Helpless” “Show Me Lights” “Hurting” and “Blue Cassette”

I recommend anyone who is into indie music and electro indie alternative to check them out and their album. Here are a few videos for you to check out.

Pull Me Back to Earth

Jump In The Pool

Posted on June 5, 2011, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

